Car Insurance in Louisiana
Louisiana state law requires all drivers to protect their liability in the event of an accident.
To purchase Car Insurance for your car, on the question of where to find cheap car insurance policies? There are many insurance companies in Louisiana. How do you know which one to choose? Shop around! Do not just pick the first insurance company that your eyes in the land of the yellow pages
State minimums for Louisiana are:
$ 10,000 Bodily Injury Liability (per person)
$ 20,000 Bodily Injury Liability (per accident)
$ 10,000 liability for damage to property
You must have your own insurance on the car at all times. In accordance with the law of Louisiana, you must show documentary proof of financial solvency at the request of the police officer, during the registration or renewal of registration of the vehicle and to obtain a driver's license or renewal license. Failure to comply with Louisiana's financial responsibility can lead to negative consequences such as removal of your vehicle and the suspension of driving privileges.
Insurance companies refer to the state minimum limits of Louisiana as 10/20/10 coverage. Louisiana does not require drivers to buy protection against uninsured or underinsured motorists. However, many insurance companies offer drivers uninsured Louisiana / Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury liability coverage as an option.
Louisiana Department of Insurance keeps records of all complaints against insurance companies, as well as individual insurance agents throughout the state. Check out the various proposals on the sites on the Internet before making a final decision on the insurance company or agent.