Car Insurance in Kansas
Legal requirements for the purchase of Car Insurance in Kansas
The minimum amount of liability coverage Car Insurance to meet the Financial Responsibility Law Kansas is 25,000 / 50,000 / 10,000. This means that the insurance policy must insure you against loss resulting from an accident where you have been identified as a fault, as a minimum:
Twenty-five thousand dollars, as the injury or death of one person in one accident
Fifty thousand dollars, as personal injury or death of two or more persons in one accident, provided twenty-five thousand dollars per person limit
Ten thousand dollars ($ 10,000) due to damage or destroy property of others in an accident
Penalty for failure to comply with the financial responsibility of Kansas:
Any person violating any provision of this Article shall be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor and is subject to a fine of $ 300 to $ 1,000 or imprisonment in county jail for a term not exceeding six months or both such fine and imprisonment.
Any person convicted of a violation of any provision of this section within three years of such conviction shall be guilty of an offense and shall be the class of a fine of $ 800 to $ 2,500.
Additionally, there may be terminated by the cancellation of a license or vehicle registration
A certificate of financial responsibility (SR-22): SR-22 is certified for the future of financial responsibility issued by your insurance company to the department of motor vehicles provide evidence that you have purchased Car Insurance Liability.
The following circumstances may require the person to SR-22:
Failure to provide insurance during a traffic stop, if the insurance is provided to the Department within the deadline set by state law.
Any license suspension, resulting in non-compliance to maintain proof of insurance. For failure to provide evidence of financial security in a car accident in accordance with the requirements.